Backboard
https://backboard.io/products/api
Stateful AI API combining persistent memory, RAG, web search and routing across many LLMs behind one interface, with SDKs for Python and npm; benchmarks its memory on LoCoMo and LongMemEval. As of Oct 2026 Backboard positions itself as an AI compute efficiency lab selling an inference-optimization engine; the memory product continues as its Stateful API.
Active · Verified 2026-10-29 · fresh as of 2026-10-29 · 39 cited facts, 2 with a third-party source · 2 recorded changes · Suggest a correction
At a glance
- Type
- Memory + LoCoMo evaluation harness repo fix
- Tier
- T2
- Section
- Dedicated memory layers
- Latest release
- no releases fix
- License
- Unlicensed repo fix
- GitHub
- Backboard-io/Backboard-Locomo-Benchmark — ~18 stars (org's largest repo is Backboard-R-CLI, ~54 stars) repo fix
- Pricing
- Free $0; Education $5; Developer $20; Scale $400 (billing period not stated on page) vendor fix
- Funding
- undisclosed pre-seed (2026-01), led by Mistral Venture Partners + N49P; Garage Capital, DevCap participated. The $3M figure could not be confirmed: BetaKit and the company press release give no amount third-party fix
- Freshness
- 2026-10-29 fix
- Layer
- agent-infra repo fix
- SDK languages
- python, rest, typescript vendor fix
- Compliance
- none-published vendor fix
Memory taxonomy
- storage
- vector
- retrieval
- similarity
- persistence
- long-term
- update
- extraction
- unit
- episode
- governance
- inspectable
- conflict
- none
When to use
Optimised for: LoCoMo benchmark performance (long-conversation accuracy)
Anti-fit: searched not found
Pros & cons
Pros
Lightweight managed memory layer with simple SDK; quick to integrate into greenfield agents.
Cons
Newer entrant; thin track record; small team.
Claims & capabilities
Ships its own LoCoMo benchmark fork ( Backboard-Locomo-Benchmark ) for transparent evaluation.
Technical surface
- API surface
- searched not found
- Backend storage
- searched not found
- Deployment
- Managed cloud API; vendor also advertises private-cloud, on-prem and on-device deployment
- Embedding model
- searched not found
- Multi-tenancy
- searched not found
- MCP
- not documented publicly
- A2A
- not documented publicly
- OpenTelemetry
- not documented publicly
Alternatives to Backboard → live options ranked by shared design, licence, hosting and MCP support
Similar systems
Other dedicated memory layers in the catalog, ranked by inbound references.
- Mem0 T1
Universal memory layer for AI agents. Three concurrent stores (vector + graph + KV); LLM-extracted facts; concurrent retrieval via ThreadPoolExecutor.
- Zep & Graphiti T1
Bi-temporal knowledge graph (event time + ingestion time). Strong on chronological reasoning and contradiction tracking. Graphiti is the open-source core.
- Cognee T1
"Extract–Cognify–Load" pipeline that turns raw input into a typed, queryable knowledge graph for agent recall.
- Hindsight (Vectorize) T1
Standalone memory service from Vectorize. Open source. Biomimetic four-network design (World, Bank, Observation, Opinion). Ships an MCP memory server.
- Letta / MemGPT T1
Originated as MemGPT (UC Berkeley), where the model pages its own memory between context, recall and archival tiers. The product now centres on Letta Code, a stateful agent harness whose agents rewrite their own memory, skills and prompts over time.
- Memori T2
Structured, persistent memory layer for AI agents. Open source.
Sources (38 cited facts, 2 third-party)
Each fact links to the page it came from; the badge says who published it (how to read sources).
- What it is Memory + LoCoMo evaluation harness repo
- What it does & what's distinct Stateful AI API combining persistent memory, RAG, web search and routing across many LLM… vendor
- Claims / benefits Ships its own LoCoMo benchmark fork ( Backboard-Locomo-Benchmark ) for transparent evalu… repo
- Modalities text repo
- Created 2025-11 repo
- License Unlicensed repo
- GitHub Backboard-io/Backboard-Locomo-Benchmark — ~18 stars (org's largest repo is Backboard-R-C… repo
- Funding undisclosed pre-seed (2026-01), led by Mistral Venture Partners + N49P; Garage Capital, … third-party
- Pricing Free $0; Education $5; Developer $20; Scale $400 (billing period not stated on page) vendor
- Deployment Managed cloud API; vendor also advertises private-cloud, on-prem and on-device deployment vendor
- HQ Ottawa, Canada third-party
- Founders / pedigree Rob Imbeault (co-founder of Assent — SaaS unicorn valued >$1.4B); founded 2025 vendor
- Memory volume / scale no scale claim repo
- Schema evolution schema with migration repo
- Namespace primitives per-tenant repo
- Integration count 0 repo
- Orchestration agnostic vendor
- Programmatic control full CRUD via API vendor
- Vendor benchmarks ships own LoCoMo benchmark fork (Backboard-Locomo-Benchmark) — score not headlined repo
- Pricing specifics usage-based tiered: free production-ready promo; paid scale tiers vendor
- Validated verticals agent memory, conversational AI (horizontal) vendor
- Time to running <10min (hosted) vendor
- Optimised for LoCoMo benchmark performance (long-conversation accuracy) vendor
- Adjacent infrastructure BYO LLM (OpenAI/Anthropic/Gemini/Ollama keys) vendor
- Pros Lightweight managed memory layer with simple SDK; quick to integrate into greenfield age… repo
- Cons Newer entrant; thin track record; small team. repo
- Project & sources GitHub Backboard-io benchmark repo repo
- commit-trajectory [{"ym":"2025-11","cum":2}] repo
- cost-input-usd-per-mtok 0 vendor
- cost-output-usd-per-mtok 0 vendor
- cost-tier free vendor
- cost-pricing-model free-tier vendor
- cost-last-verified 2026-06-29 vendor
- architecture-deployment-locus cloud vendor
- positioning-platform-vs-product both vendor
- taxonomy-three-layer-rollup agent-infra repo
- compliance-certifications none-published vendor
- sdk-languages python,rest,typescript vendor
What changed
Changes to this record's lifecycle, licence, release, pricing and hosting facts, from the catalog's git history. Subscribe (Atom)
- 2026-10-29
- Homepage “https://github.com/Backboard-io” → “https://backboard.io/products/api”
- 2026-10-22
- Pricing “Usage-based tiered pricing; free production-ready tier with promo; paid tiers for scale” → “Free $0; Education $5; Developer $20; Scale $400 (billing period not stated on page)” source
- Funding / ownership “$3M pre-seed Jan 2026; co-led Mistral Venture Partners + N49P; Garage Capital + DevCap participated” → “undisclosed pre-seed (2026-01), led by Mistral Venture Partners + N49P; Garage Capital, DevCap participated. The $3M figure could not be confirmed: BetaKit and the company press release give no amount” source
- Deployment “Cloud-hosted (managed SaaS; multi-model API)” → “Managed cloud API; vendor also advertises private-cloud, on-prem and on-device deployment” source
Related systems
References (3)
- Anthropic Claude (foundation models) depends on at runtime — adjacent-infrastructure cell: BYO LLM (OpenAI/Anthropic/Gemini/Ollama keys)
- Google Gemini 3 family depends on at runtime — adjacent-infrastructure cell: BYO LLM (OpenAI/Anthropic/Gemini/Ollama keys)
- OpenAI GPT family (GPT-5 / GPT-4o / o3 / o4) depends on at runtime — adjacent-infrastructure cell: BYO LLM (OpenAI/Anthropic/Gemini/Ollama keys)