Scale AI
Data-labeling powerhouse for AI training — RLHF data, fine-tuning corpora, frontier-lab partnerships. Meta made a strategic investment in 2025-06 for a minority stake (Scale's own post gives a valuation above $29B, not the amount); founder Alexandr Wang joined Meta and stays on Scale's board.
Active · Verified 2026-10-27 · fresh as of 2026-10-27 · 16 cited facts, 5 with a third-party source · 1 recorded change · Suggest a correction
At a glance
- Type
- Data labelling at frontier scale vendor fix
- Tier
- T1
- Section
- Training infrastructure
- Latest release
- v2.18.4 (2026-04-24) — scaleapi (Python SDK) registry fix
- License
- proprietary; Python SDK MIT registry fix
- GitHub
- searched not found vendor fix
- Pricing
- No public pricing — contact sales vendor fix
- Funding
- Meta strategic investment announced 2025-06-12: Meta holds a minority stake, valuing Scale at over $29B (amount not disclosed by Scale); founder Alexandr Wang joined Meta and stays on the Scale board vendor fix
- Freshness
- 2026-10-27 fix
- Layer
- model-infra repo fix
- Licensing
- commercial registry fix
When to use
Optimised for: searched not found
Anti-fit: searched not found
Pros & cons
Pros
searched not found
Cons
searched not found
Claims & capabilities
$1.4B+ raised; $14B Meta investment 2024-06; $870M revenue 2024 (per Bloomberg); largest data-labelling vendor with US DoD CDAO Thunderforge contract 2025-03.
Technical surface
- API surface
- searched not found
- Backend storage
- searched not found
- Deployment
- searched not found
- Embedding model
- not applicable — not a memory product
- Multi-tenancy
- searched not found
- MCP
- searched not found
- A2A
- searched not found
- OpenTelemetry
- searched not found
Similar systems
Other training infrastructure in the catalog, ranked by inbound references.
- MLflow T1
Databricks-incubated open platform for ML lifecycle — tracking, projects, models, model registry. Standard ML-ops baseline. MLflow 3.0 (2024) added LLM-eval features.
- AWS SageMaker T1
AWS's managed ML platform — Studio, Training, HyperPod (large-scale clusters), Endpoints. Industry-standard for enterprise AWS-hosted training.
- Weights & Biases T1
Experiment-tracking and ML-ops platform (metrics, artifacts, sweeps, Weave tracing/evals). Acquired by CoreWeave (completed 2025-05-05, ~$1.7B); now part of CoreWeave Forge.
- Comet ML T2
ML experiment tracking + LLM evaluation platform (Opik for LLM eval). Comet competes head-to-head with Weights & Biases.
- Azure Machine Learning T1
Microsoft Azure's managed ML platform — pipelines, AutoML, Designer, prompt flow (LLM). Heavy integration with Azure OpenAI and Azure AI Studio.
- LoRA T3
Microsoft Research's Low-Rank Adapters method — trains rank-r matrices added to attention weights; 10000x parameter reduction. Foundation of all adapter-style fine-tuning.
Sources (15 cited facts, 5 third-party)
Each fact links to the page it came from; the badge says who published it (how to read sources).
- What it is Data labelling at frontier scale vendor
- What it does & what's distinct Data-labeling powerhouse for AI training — RLHF data, fine-tuning corpora, frontier-lab … vendor
- Claims / benefits $1.4B+ raised; $14B Meta investment 2024-06; $870M revenue 2024 (per Bloomberg); largest… third-party
- Created 2016 third-party
- Latest release v2.18.4 (2026-04-24) — scaleapi (Python SDK) registry
- License proprietary; Python SDK MIT registry
- Funding Meta strategic investment announced 2025-06-12: Meta holds a minority stake, valuing Sca… vendor
- Customers / scale OpenAI, Meta, Microsoft, Anthropic, Google, US DoD (CDAO), General Motors, Toyota, Brex. vendor
- Pricing No public pricing — contact sales vendor
- HQ San Francisco, CA, USA. third-party
- Founders / pedigree Alexandr Wang (CEO until 2025-06, joined Meta), Lucy Guo (left 2018); founded 2016. third-party
- adoption-accelerator yc-s16 third-party
- licensing-bucket commercial registry
- positioning-platform-vs-product platform vendor
- taxonomy-three-layer-rollup model-infra repo
What changed
Changes to this record's lifecycle, licence, release, pricing and hosting facts, from the catalog's git history. Subscribe (Atom)
- 2026-10-27
- License first recorded as “proprietary; Python SDK MIT” source
- Latest release first recorded as “v2.18.4 (2026-04-24) — scaleapi (Python SDK)” source
- Pricing first recorded as “No public pricing — contact sales” source
- Funding / ownership “$1.4B raised across rounds incl. $14B Meta strategic investment in 2024-06 (Meta took ~49% stake; Wang joined Meta Superintelligence Labs).” → “Meta strategic investment announced 2025-06-12: Meta holds a minority stake, valuing Scale at over $29B (amount not disclosed by Scale); founder Alexandr Wang joined Meta and stays on the Scale board” source