Dagster
Data orchestrator with first-class ML pipeline support — software-defined assets model; competes with Airflow/Prefect for ML pipelines. Acquired by Prefect (announced 2026-07-13); Dagster continues as a supported product under its own name and open-source license.
Acquired · Verified 2026-10-29 · fresh as of 2026-10-29 · 20 cited facts, 2 with a third-party source · 2 recorded changes · Suggest a correction
At a glance
- Type
- Data + ML pipeline orchestrator vendor fix
- Tier
- T1
- Section
- Training infrastructure
- Latest release
- v1.13.27 (2026-10-26) registry fix
- License
- Apache-2.0 vendor fix
- Pricing
- Dagster+ Solo $10/mo, Starter $100/mo (plus per-credit and serverless compute usage), Pro custom vendor fix
- Funding
- Acquired by Prefect (announced 2026-07-13; terms not disclosed); previously $47M total raised through Series B 2022-05 ($33M, Sapphire Ventures led). vendor fix
- Freshness
- 2026-10-29 fix
- Layer
- model-infra repo fix
- Developer activity
- OpenRank 14.26 (12-mo avg 57.23) · 106 participants — 2026-09 third-party fix
When to use
Optimised for: searched not found
Anti-fit: searched not found
Pros & cons
Pros
searched not found
Cons
searched not found
Claims & capabilities
$33M Series B 2022.
Technical surface
- API surface
- searched not found
- Backend storage
- searched not found
- Deployment
- Both (self-hosted + managed cloud) — Dagster+ Serverless or Hybrid; OSS self-hosted
- Embedding model
- not applicable — not a memory product
- Multi-tenancy
- searched not found
- MCP
- searched not found
- A2A
- searched not found
- OpenTelemetry
- searched not found
Similar systems
Other training infrastructure in the catalog, ranked by inbound references.
- MLflow T1
Databricks-incubated open platform for ML lifecycle — tracking, projects, models, model registry. Standard ML-ops baseline. MLflow 3.0 (2024) added LLM-eval features.
- AWS SageMaker T1
AWS's managed ML platform — Studio, Training, HyperPod (large-scale clusters), Endpoints. Industry-standard for enterprise AWS-hosted training.
- Weights & Biases T1
Experiment-tracking and ML-ops platform (metrics, artifacts, sweeps, Weave tracing/evals). Acquired by CoreWeave (completed 2025-05-05, ~$1.7B); now part of CoreWeave Forge.
- Comet ML T2
ML experiment tracking + LLM evaluation platform (Opik for LLM eval). Comet competes head-to-head with Weights & Biases.
- Azure Machine Learning T1
Microsoft Azure's managed ML platform — pipelines, AutoML, Designer, prompt flow (LLM). Heavy integration with Azure OpenAI and Azure AI Studio.
- LoRA T3
Microsoft Research's Low-Rank Adapters method — trains rank-r matrices added to attention weights; 10000x parameter reduction. Foundation of all adapter-style fine-tuning.
Sources (19 cited facts, 2 third-party)
Each fact links to the page it came from; the badge says who published it (how to read sources).
- What it is Data + ML pipeline orchestrator vendor
- What it does & what's distinct Data orchestrator with first-class ML pipeline support — software-defined assets model; … vendor
- Claims / benefits $33M Series B 2022. vendor
- Created 2018 repo
- Latest release v1.13.27 (2026-10-26) registry
- License Apache-2.0 vendor
- GitHub dagster-io/dagster — ~16.3k stars, last commit 2026-10 repo
- Funding Acquired by Prefect (announced 2026-07-13; terms not disclosed); previously $47M total r… vendor
- Customers / scale Discord, Mozilla, GitHub, Doordash, BlackRock; 11k+ OSS stars. vendor
- Pricing Dagster+ Solo $10/mo, Starter $100/mo (plus per-credit and serverless compute usage), Pr… vendor
- Deployment Both (self-hosted + managed cloud) — Dagster+ Serverless or Hybrid; OSS self-hosted vendor
- HQ Minneapolis, MN, USA (remote-first). third-party
- Founders / pedigree Nick Schrock (CEO; ex-Facebook GraphQL); founded 2018 (Elementl / Dagster Labs). vendor
- Code/weights release Active — last commit 2026-05 · 15,490★ repo
- architecture-deployment-locus hybrid vendor
- licensing-bucket open-core vendor
- positioning-platform-vs-product platform vendor
- taxonomy-three-layer-rollup model-infra repo
- developer-activity-opendigger {"activity":186.58,"as_of":"2026-09","openrank_12mo":57.23,"openrank_current":14.26,"par… third-party
What changed
Changes to this record's lifecycle, licence, release, pricing and hosting facts, from the catalog's git history. Subscribe (Atom)
- 2026-10-29
- Funding / ownership “$47M total raised through Series B 2022-05 ($33M, Sapphire Ventures led).” → “Acquired by Prefect (announced 2026-07-13; terms not disclosed); previously $47M total raised through Series B 2022-05 ($33M, Sapphire Ventures led).” source
- 2026-10-27
- Latest release first recorded as “v1.13.27 (2026-10-26)” source
- Pricing first recorded as “Dagster+ Solo $10/mo, Starter $100/mo (plus per-credit and serverless compute usage), Pro custom” source
- Deployment first recorded as “Both (self-hosted + managed cloud) — Dagster+ Serverless or Hybrid; OSS self-hosted” source
Related systems
Referenced by (1)
- Qdrant integrates with — Qdrant's documentation has a Dagster integration page. (verified 2026-10-29)